MxPx Release ‘Triple Shot’ Album Set, Prep for New LP

Story by Anne Erickson

MxPx plan to drop a new album by year’s end

Punk-pop outfit MxPx built a solid fan base in the ‘90s and 2000s writing high-energy, upbeat punk rock tracks with inspiriting sentiments that made the guys stand out from the standard punk dudes of the day, like Green Day and the Offspring. Now, the band’s label, Seattle’s Tooth & Nail Records, have released a collection of the guys’ earliest releases, and it’s an apt gift idea for any MxPx fan.

MxPx’s triple pack, titled “Triple Shot,” is available in stores and online on iTunes or Amazon MP3. The 3-CD set includes 57 songs, counting all the tracks from their first three albums — Pokinatcha, Teenage Politics and Life In General — for one very reasonable price of under $20. The compilation is idyllic for newer fans who may have missed out on some of the group’s early catalog.

If it’s new music you’re itching for, the guys have been in the studio, working on tracks for their upcoming, ninth LP. The Washington-based group – including Mike Herrera (vocals, bass), Tom Wisniewski (guitars) and Yuri Ruley (drums) – expect to drop the album by the end of the year.

Herrera, who is self-producing the album, says they’re in the process of cutting the assortment of songs from 20 to about 12 to 14. “I’ve put an immense amount of thought into the bass lines this time around,” he said in an official statement. “I’ve expanded the fills and changed them up here and there, which has been fun.”

Photo via Tooth & Nail Records.


Anne Erickson
Latest posts by Anne Erickson (see all)

Related Posts