Members of Foo Fighters, Nine Inch Nails and More to Appear on ‘Sound City’ Soundtrack


Story by Anne Erickson

Upcoming ‘Sound City’ soundtrack to feature some big rock names, including Dave Grohl and Trent Reznor

Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl has released the soundtrack to his highly-anticipated upcoming documentary, “Sound City.” The set, called simply “Sound City — Real to Reel,” offers songs from various musicians who have recorded at the iconic Sound City Studios, and many of those artists also appear in the film during interview segments.

“Sound City — Real to Reel” packs 11 tracks that feature Grohl rocking out with a long list of rock legends: Rage Against the Machine’s Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk, Nine Inch Nails’ frontman Trent Reznor, Queens of the Stone Age Josh Homme and Alain Johannes and Foo Fighters guitarist Pat Smear and drummer Taylor Hawkins, to name a few. The soundtrack also includes the song that Grohl, Smear, Nirvana bass player Krist Novoselic and Paul McCartney performed at the 12.12.12 — The Concert for Sandy Relief benefit show in New York City, called “Cut Me Some Slack.”

The soundtrack is due out March 12, which is a little over a month after the film is due out. The album is currently available for pre-order via iTunes. “Sound City,” the movie, will be released on Feb. 1, with pre-sale for that happening right now at the “Sound City” film’s official website at a discounted price of $10.

‘Sound City — Real to Reel’ Track listing:

“Heaven and All” — Dave Grohl, Peter Hayes and Robert Levon Been
“Time Slowing Down” — Brad Wilk, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl and Tim Commerford
“You Can’t Fix This” — Dave Grohl, Rami Jaffee, Stevie Nicks and Taylor Hawkins
“The Man That Never Was” — Dave Grohl, Nate Mendel, Pat Smear, Rick Springfield and Taylor Hawkins
“Your Wife Is Calling” — Alain Johannes, Dave Grohl, Lee Ving, Pat Smear and Taylor Hawkins
“From Can to Can’t” — Corey Taylor, Dave Grohl, Rick Nielsen and Scott Reeder
“Centipede” — Alain Johannes, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl and Joshua Homme
“A Trick with No Sleeve” — Alain Johannes, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl and Joshua Homme
“Cut Me Some Slack” — Paul McCartney, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic and Pat Smear
“Once Upon a Time…the End” — Dave Grohl, Jessy Greene, Jim Keltner and Rami Jaffee
“Mantra” — Dave Grohl, Joshua Homme and Trent Reznor

Anne Erickson
Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, Grunge, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts