AFI Announces New EP, ‘The Missing Man’


Story by Cat Badra, photo by Travis Delgado

AFI is back with a surprise EP, ‘The Missing Man,’ which will arrive by the end of the year

California rockers AFI has announced a surprise new EP. Davey Havok and company will release the five-track set, called “The Missing Man,” on Dec. 7.

In addition to announcing the new EP, AFI has also unleashed a new song off the set, “Get Dark,” which is available now via digital platforms.

Speaking about “Get Dark” in a statement, Havok said, “From the initial performance and recording, it had a driving sense of forward movement and penetrating connection. The song’s themes of deification and deference, self-loathing and vanity, captivation and release, damage and healing, are posed in a subtle invitation to those inherently compelled to accept.”

“I was aiming for something a little raw for ‘Get Dark,'” added guitarist Jade Puget. “In fact, I used most of the vocal takes from the very first time Davey sang it, as well as some of my guitar parts from when we were writing it. The song is built on the sparseness and simplicity of the verse drum groove and guitar riff that opens up into this big anthemic chorus.”

Puget added, “For the EP, the same idea of a certain rawness was really important to the overall vibe. I feel like it’s easy to turn out a slick, polished set of songs, but to walk that fine line between studio creation and live sound can be difficult. It’s been an intense labor of love and we can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

“The Missing Man” marks AFI’s follow-up to their 2017 self-titled album, also referred to as “The Blood Album.” The band closed out a tour to promote “The Blood Album” with Rise Against in September.

AFI’s ‘The Missing Man’ Track List:

“Trash Bat”
“Break Angels”
“Back into the Sun”
“Get Dark”
“The Missing Man”

Cat Badra
Posted by Cat Badra | Alternative, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts