Ozzy Osbourne Announces New Album, ‘Patient Number 9,’ Releases Title Track


Ozzy Osbourne photo by Ross Halfin

Ozzy Osbourne – Story by Charles Ken, photo by Ross Halfin

The new album from Ozzy Osbourne features appearances from Jeff Beck, Metallica bass player Robert Trujillo, Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready and more

After months, actually years, of teasing, Ozzy Osbourne has announced his new album, “Patient Number 9.” The collection will offer 14 new tracks and arrive on Sept. 9.

In addition to the album announcement, Osbourne has released the title track, featuring guitar work from the famed Jeff Beck. The title song also features a long list of additional musicians, such as Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Chad Smith on drums, Metallica’s Robert Trujillo on bass, Zakk Wylde on guitars and keyboards and producer Andrew Watt on backing vocals, guitars, and keyboards. Watch the Todd McFarlane-directed music video for the title track below.

“The song is about a mental institution,” Ozzy stated regarding the title track. “Having someone like Jeff Beck play on my album is just incredible, a total honor. There’s no other guitar player that plays like him and his solo on ‘Patient Number 9′ is just jaw-dropping.”

Other songs on “Patient Number 9” includes guest appearances from Eric Clapton, Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi and Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready, plus session work from Jane’s Addiction’s Chris Chaney, Guns N’ Roses’ Duff McKagan and late Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins.

The album announcement and new song are something of a celebration following Ozzy’s recent neck surgery, which his wife and manager Sharon Osbourne describes as something that was “really going to determine the rest of his life.” After coming back from the hospital, Ozzy said, “I am now home from the hospital recuperating comfortably. I am definitely feeling the love and support from all my fans and send everyone a big thank you for their thoughts, prayers and well wishes during my recovery.”

For pre-order information on the new album, visit Ozzy’s webstore. View the full track listing below.

Ozzy Osbourne’s “Patient Number 9” Track List:

1. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
2. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
3. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
4. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
5. One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
6. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
7. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
8. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
9. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead and Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues

Charles Ken
Posted by Charles Ken | Metal, Music, Rock News

Related Posts