Nikki Sixx Describes Writing the ‘Retaliators’ Theme Song


Retaliators Image

“Retaliators” theme song – Story by Charles Ken, image via Better Noise Music

Nikki Sixx of Motley Crue says writing a theme song for a horror flick was “inspiring”

A rock-packed horror-thriller called “The Retaliators” drops in theaters Sept. 14, and now, the theme song featuring ’80s hair metal favorites Motley Crue and others has been revealed. On top of Motley Crue, the theme song, titled “The Retaliators Theme Song (21 Bullets),” features Asking Alexandria’s Danny Worsnop, Ice Nine Kills’ Spencer Charnas and From Ashes to New’s Matt Brandyberry. Motley Crue bass player Nikki Sixx and his Sixx A.M. bandmate James Michael wrote the track.

The song is very different from what you’d expect from a Motley Crue song, with a modern, alternative metal feel and singalong, melodic vocals. Each of the aforementioned singers take their turn at singing on the song at some point.

“Writing a new theme song for a horror flick was inspiring,” Sixx said in a press release. “This was my first time writing for a horror-thriller film, and it took me in a different direction from the first theme song I wrote — ‘The Dirt (1981)’ by Motley Crue. I worked with some great new artists to create a new sound that will stretch Motley Crue’s audience to new fans. I had a great time writing it, and I think our fans will love it too!”

“The Retaliators” film will feature a collection of cameos from Tommy Lee (Motley Crue), Ivan Moody and Zoltan Bathory (Five Finger Death Punch), Jacoby Shaddix (Papa Roach), Spencer Charnas (Ice Nine Kills) and more. The film also stars Michael Lombardi (“Rescue Me”), Marc Menchaca (“Ozark”) and Joseph Gatt. The storyline follows an “upstanding pastor who uncovers a dark and twisted underworld as he searches for answers surrounding his daughter’s brutal murder,” according to the official synopsis.

Of course, this isn’t the only thing Motley Crue is up to this summer. The band is also on tour with Def Leppard for their massive stadium tour. The trek wraps up with a Sept. 9 date in Las Vegas, Nevada.

“The Retaliators Theme Song (21 Bullets)” is featured on the 19-track original soundtrack. Watch the music video for the theme song and view the full track list below.

The Retaliators Soundtrack Track List:

1. Papa Roach – The Ending
2. The HU – This Is Mongol
3. Eva Under Fire – Blow (feat. Spencer Charnas of Ice Nine Kills)
4. From Ashes To New – Scars That I’m Hiding (feat. Anders Fridén of In Flames)
5. Asking Alexandria – Faded Out (feat. Within Temptation)
6. Tommy Lee – Tops (feat. Push Push)
7. Classless Act – Classless Act (feat. Vince Neil of Motley Crue)
8. Five Finger Death Punch – Darkness Settles In
10. Crossbone Skully – Evil World Machine
11. The HU – Wolf Totem (feat. Jacoby Shaddix)
12. Bad Wolves – If Tomorrow Never Comes (feat. Spencer Charnas of Ice Nine Kills
13. Cory Marks – Burn It Up
14. Hyro The Hero – Who’s That Playing On The Radio? (feat. Mick Mars and Danny Worsnop)
15. Cory Marks – Blame It On The Double (feat. Tyler Connolly and Jason Hook)
16. All Good Things – For The Glory (feat. Hollywood Undead)
17. From Ashes To New – Barely Breathing
18. Mötley Crüe – The Retaliators Theme (21 Bullets) (feat. Ice Nine Kills, Asking Alexandria, and From Ashes To New)

Charles Ken
Posted by Charles Ken | Metal, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts