Demon Hunter: ‘We’ve Been Underwhelmed with Metal the Last Five Years’


Story by Charles Ken

Demon Hunter vocalist on new album: ‘This record is without a doubt our most aggressive’

Seattle-based Christian heavy metal band Demon Hunter are back with an aggressive collection of songs, “True Defiance,” set to drop April 10, 2012, on Solid State Records. The album, which is the band’s sixth, shows that faith-based heavy music can roar just as loud as its secular counterparts, with cutting track such as “Dead Flowers,” “Someone to Hate” and “Tomorrow Never Comes” providing the set with dramatic doom rock.

Produced by Aaron Sprinkle of Anberlin and Emery fame and mixed by metal guy Jason Suecof, who has worked with All That Remains and Trivium, “True Defiance” is the band’s most forceful set yet.

“This record is without a doubt our most aggressive,” vocalist and band co-founder Ryan Clark said in a release. “Every Demon Hunter record must be a step up from the last. I know that’s a goal for every band, but it seldom works that way — especially today, especially in metal. It seems like most bands’ prime years are long behind them. I refuse to let that be the case for us.”

Clark added that the album is Demon Hunter’s answer to the current metal world, which the guys believe has fallen to lackluster, cookie-cutter conventions. “We’ve been extremely underwhelmed with metal for the last five years or so, and that’s been the fuel to create this record,” Clark said. “With an extreme over-saturation of false, fleeting, trend-hopping noise in today’s metal scene, we had to make something we’ve been longing to hear. Something truly meaningful and artistic. Something our fans would love and something that will turn the heads of those who have ignored us for the past decade.” (Courtesy photo via Solid State Records.)

‘True Defiance’ track listing:

01. Crucifix
02. God Forsaken
03. My Destiny
04. Wake
05. Tomorrow Never Comes
06. Someone to Hate
07. This I Know
08. Means to an End
09. We Don’t Care
10. Resistance
11. Dead Flowers




Posted by Charles Ken | Christian Metal and Rock News, Metal, Music, Rock News

Related Posts