Soundgarden, Stone Temple Pilots’ Scott Weiland, Evanescence to Appear on ‘Avengers’ Soundtrack


Story by Anne Erickson

Modern rock and alternative bands lend songs to the soundtrack for ‘The Avengers’

Earlier this week, we reported that legendary ‘90s grunge rock boys Soundgarden posted a 22-second preview of their new single, “Live to Rise,” on Youtube, giving a taste of the track that’s getting featured on the soundtrack to “The Avengers.” The song is Soundgarden’s first newly-recorded ditty in a lengthy 15 years. Now, the full track list for the soundtrack for “The Avengers” is out, and it features a bevy of popular modern rock and alternative artists. Check out the full track list, below.

The soundtrack will offer tracks by Bush, Papa Roach, Shinedown, Evanescence, Rise Against, Black Veil Brides, Scott Weiland of Stone Temple Pilots, Five Finger Death Punch and more. Look for the assortment to drop on iTunes on May 1, a few days before feature film arrives in theaters on May 4. Stars of the flick include Robert Downey, Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth , Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Tom Hiddleston and Samuel L. Jackson.

As for Soundgarden, the guys recently issued a statement about not only their “Avengers” song, but work on their upcoming album. “We’ve been hard at work on our new album, which will come out this fall,” the band said. “When the opportunity arose to write an original song for Marvel’s The Avengers film came our way, we thought it could be a cool match. We are excited to release our new song ‘Live to Rise,’ which is also the only new song in the film. Loudest of Love.”

‘The Avengers’ Track Listing:

Soundgarden, “Live to Rise”
Shinedown, “I’m Alive”
Rise Against, “Dirt and Roses”
Papa Roach, “Even if I Could”
Black Veil Brides, “Unbroken”
Scott Weiland, “Breath”
Redlight King, “Comeback”
Bush, “Into the Blue”
Evanescence, “A New Way to Bleed” (Photek remix)
Theory of a Deadman, “Shoot to Thrill”
Buckcherry, “Wherever I Go”
Five Finger Death Punch, “From Out of Nowhere”
Cherri Bomb, “Shake the Ground”
Kasabian, “Pistols at Dawn” (added track on international release)


Anne Erickson
Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts