Soundgarden to Offer Wide Release of ‘A-Sides’


Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Ken Settle

After reissuing ‘A-Sides’ on vinyl for Record Store Day, Soundgarden is expanding the collection’s release

Soundgarden released their compilation album “A-Sides” on vinyl for the first time ever in conjunction with this year’s Record Store Day, and now, the set is getting a wider release. The grunge icons will offer a wide release of the collection on Aug. 31.

“A-Sides” was first released back in 1997, a few months after Soundgarden had parted ways earlier that year. The collection features some Soundgarden favorites, including “Outshined,” “Spoonman,” “Black Hole Sun” and “Burden in My Hand,” plus a non-album song called “Bleed Together.”

Soundgarden got back together to much fanfare in 2010. The group released a new album of original material, called “King Animal,” in 2012 and was working on their follow-up to that album when singer Chris Cornell tragically passed away in May of 2017. Cornell was found dead in his hotel room at The Fox Theatre in Detroit after a show at the venue.

Soundgarden’s “A-Sides” Vinyl Track List:

“Nothing to Say”
“Loud Love”
“Hands All Over”
“Get on the Snake”
“Jesus Christ Pose”
“Rusty Cage”
“The Day I Tried to Live”
“Black Hole Sun”
“Fell on Black Days”
“Pretty Noose”
“Burden in My Hand”
“Blow Up the Outside World”
“Ty Cobb”
“Bleed Together”



Posted by Anne Erickson | Alternative, Grunge, Music, Rock, Rock News

Related Posts